Where it all Started...
HISTORY OF KINGS CAMP
Kings Camp Private Game Reserve has been in operation as a game lodge since 1995, and Waterbuck Private Camp as you experience it today officially opened in June 2011.
This corner of heaven was purchased by Joof Alberts in 1995. After a revamp, Kings Camp officially opened its doors in OCTOBER of 1995. As the years have passed by Kings Camp has had a gradual facelift and today is a magnificent luxury lodge that rivals the best.
After a complete revamp that started at the end of 2010, Waterbuck Private Camp officially opened in June 2011 transforming it into an uber-luxurious Private Camp for families and small group safaris.
HISTORY OF THE TIMBAVATI
The Timbavati Private Nature Reserve came into existence in July 1956, when a group of private landowners in the area came together with common ideals of the conservation of the region to form the Timbavati Association. These leading spirits of conservation and sustainable land use eventually succeeded in forming the Timbavati Association governed by a constitution for the benefit of all.
In the 1960’s the fence line on the Western boundary of the National Park was erected separating the National Park from the privately owned reserves on the Western Boundary. Forty years passed by until this boundary fence was finally removed in 1992 to incorporate the large tracts of privately owned land into the greater Kruger reserve namely, Timbavati, Klaserie, Umbabat, Manyaleti and Sabi Sand Private Game Reserve. Later on the Balule Nature Reserve and Olifants Game Reserve West of Klaserie joined this magnificent reserve. Today the total area under protection is a mind boggling 2, 2 million hectares of African Bushveld.